Lists of Holidays For The Central Government Offices in India for the Year 2011

The Following is the List of 14 Compulsory Holidays for the Central Government Administrative Offices Located Outside Delhi/New Delhi:-1. Republic Day/26th January/Wednesday
2. Milad-Un-Nabi or Id-E-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad)/16th Febuary/Wednesday
3. Mahavir Jayanti/ 16th April/Saturday
4. Good Friday/22nd April/Friday
5. Budha Purnima/17th May/Tuesday
6. Independence Day/15th August/Monday
7. Idu’l Fitr/31st August/Wednesday
8. Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday/02nd October/Sunday
9. Dussehra (Vijaya Dashmi)/06th October/Thursday
10. Diwali (Deepavali)/26th October/Wednesday
11. Idu’l Zuha (Bakrid)/07th Novmeber/Monday
12. Guru Nanak’s Birthday/10th November/Thursday
13. Muharram/06th December/Tuesday
14. Christmas Day/25th December/SundayIn Addition to the above 14 Compulsory Holidays, 3 Holidays from the following List will be observed in the Central Government Administrative Offices Located Outside Delhi/New Delhi in each State. The final list applicable uniformly to all Central Government offices within the concerned State shall be notified after seeking prior approval of this Ministry and no change can be carried out thereafter and also no change is permissible in regard to festivals and dates as indicated:-

1. An Additional Day For Dussehra
2. Holi/20th March/Sunday
3. Janmashtaw (Vaishnvi)
4. Ram Navami
5. Maha Shivratri
6. Ganesh Chaturthi (Vinayak Chaturthi)
7. Makara Sankaranti
8. Rath Yatra
9. Onam
10. Pongal
1 1. Sri Pancham (Basanta Panchami)
12. Vshu/ Vaisakhi/ Vaisakhdi/Bhag Bihu/Mashadi Ugadi? Chaitra Sakladi/Cheti Chand? Gudi Pada/ Navratra/Nauraj/Chhath Pooja

The/ Following is a List of Restricted Holidays for the Central Government Offices located in DelhiNew Delhi:-

1/New Year’s Day/01st JanuarySaturday
2/Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday/05th Januray/Wednesday
3/Makar Sankranti/14th Januray/Friday
4/Pongal/15th January/Saturday
5/Basanta Panchami / Sri Panchami/08th February/Tuesday
6 Guru Ravidas’ Birthday February 18 Magha 29 Friday
7 Shivaji Jayanthi February 19 Magha 30 Saturday
8 Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti February 27 Phalguna 08 Sunday
9 Holika Dahan (Dol yatra) March 19 Phalguna 28 Saturday
10 Holi/20th March/Sunday
11 Chaitra Sukladi / Gudi Padava / Ugadi / Cheti Chand/04th
12 Vaisakhi/14th April/Thursday
13 Vishu/14th April/Thursday
14 Mesadi/14th April/ Thursday
15 Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/Bahag Bihu (Assam)15th April/Friday
16 Easter Sunday/24th April/Sunday
17 Guru Rabindranath’s Birthday/09th May/Monday
18 Hazarat Ali’s Birthday/16th June/Thursday
19 Rath Yatra/03rd July/Sunday
20 Raksha Bandhan/ 13th August/Friday
21 Parsi New Year’s day/19th August/Friday
22 Jamat-UI-Vida/26th August/Friday
23 Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayaka Chaturthi/01st September/Thursday
24 Onam /09th September/ Friday
25 Maha Saptami/ Additional/03rd October/Monday
26 Dussehra (Maha Astami) (Additional)/04th October/Tuesday
27 Dussehra (Maha Navami)/05th October/Wednesday
28 Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/11th October/Tuesday
29 Deepavali (South India)/26th October/Wednesday
30 Narak Chaturdasi/26th October/Wednesday
31 Govardhan Puja/27th October/Thursday
32 Bhai Duj/28th October/Friday
33 Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja).01st November/ 0 Tuesday
34 Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day/24th November/Thursday
35 Christmas Eve/24th December/Saturday

The following is the Complete-List of Holidays in the Central Government offices in Delhi/New Delhi:-

1 Republic Day/26th January/Wednesday
2 Milad-Un-Nabi or Id-E-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) 16th Febuary/Wednesday
3 Maha Shivaratri/02nd March/Wednesday
4 Ram Navami/12th April/ Tuesday
5 Mahavir Jayanti/16th April/Saturday
6 Good Friday/22nd April/Friday
7 Buddha Prunima17th May/Tuesday
8 Independence Day/15th August/Monday
9 Janamashtami (Vaisnava)/22nd August/Monday
10 Idu’l Fitr/31st August/Wednesday
11 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday/02nd October/Sunday
12 Dussehra (Vijaya Dashami)/06th October/ Thursday
13 Diwali (Deepavali)/26th October/Wednesday
14 Idu’l Zuha (Bakrid)/07th November/ Monday
15 Guru Nanak’s Birthday/10th November/Thursday
16 Muharram/06th December/Tuesday
17 Christmas Day/25th December/Sunday

In respect of any change, if necessary, depending upon sighting of the Moon, in the date of holidays for the following :-

  • Idu’l Fitr
  • Idu’l Zuha,
  • Muharram and
  • Id-e-Milad,

would be declared-
– for Offices in Delhi/New Delhi by the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions after ascertaining the position from the Govt. of NCT of Delhi,

-and for Offices outside Delhi/New Delhi by Central Government Employees Welfare Coordination Committees at the State Capitals, based on the decision of the concerned State Governments/Union Territories.

As and if the change of date of the above occasions has to be declared at a very short notice, announcement could be made through Television/All India Radio/Newspapers and the Heads of Department / Offices of the Central Government may take action according to such an announcement without waiting for a formal order, about the change of date of the holidays.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments