UPA Government Headed by Dr Singh sworn in again

Dr.Manmohan Singh was sworn in as Prime Minister of India again on 22nd May 2009 along with 19 Ministers.

The portfolios of the Ministers sworn in along with Dr.Singh are yet to be announced.

Dr.Manmohan Singh is the first Prime Minister, after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, to become head of the Government for a consecutive second term, after successfully completing the full term of 5 years. The United Progressive Alliance/UPA has been successful in retaining the power acquired in 2004.

The following is the list of Ministers sworn in the first phase of the formation of Dr. Singh’s cabinet:-
1. Mr.Pranab Mukherjee
2. Mr.Sharad Pawar
3. Mr.A K Antony
4. Mr.P Chidambaram
5. Mr.S M Krishna(New)
6. Ms.Mamata Banerjee(New)
7. Mr.Ghulam Nabi Azad(New)
8. Mr.Veerappa Moily(New)
9. Mr.C P Joshi(New)
10. Mr.S Jaipal Reddy
11. Mr.Vayalar Ravi
12. Mr.Sushilkumar Shinde
13. Mr.Kamal Nath
14. Mr.Meira Kumar
15. Mr.Kapil Sibal
16. Mr.Anand Sharma
17. Ms.Ambika Soni
18. Mr.B K Handique
19. Mr.Murli Deora

The Prime Minister’s Office has said that in the next few days the cabinet of ministers will be expanded with due representation given to allies in the cabinet, ministers of state and ministers of state with independent charges.

The oath taking ceremony held in the Rashtrapati Bhavan, Newdelhi was attended among others by Vice President Mr. Hamid Ansari, UPA chairperson Mrs.Sonia Gandhi and BJP leader Mr.L K Advani, Mr.Rahul Gandhi, Ms. Priyanka Gandhi, the former Vice President Mr.Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, Mr.Lalu Prasad Yadav, Mr.Ram Vilas Paswan.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments