The US President Barrack Obama won Nobel Prize for Peace 2009

According to the will of Mr.Alfred Nobel, the founder of Nobel Prizes, the ‘Nobel Peace Prize’ should be awarded “to the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses.”
The Nobel Prize Committee has chosen Mr.Barrack Obama, the President of USA for ‘The Nobel Prize for Peace-2009’ for his extraordinary efforts in strengthening international diplomacy and for taking landmark initiatives to create a nuclear-free world.
Mr.Obama has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Peace from among 206 nominees for the prestigious award. The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded so far, 90 times to 120 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2009 – 97 times to individuals and 23 times to organizations.

Mr.Obama will receive a gold medal, a Nobel diploma and 1.4 million dollars as part of the prize and the prize will be awarded on 10th December 2009.

Mr.Obama has become the fourth President of USA to receive “Nobel Prize”. The previous three US Presidents who received Nobel Prizes are:-

  • Mr.Theodore Roosevelt in the year 1906 during his office as President ‘for his successful mediation to end the Russo-Japanese war and for his interest in arbitration, having provided the Hague arbitration court with its very first case’
  • Mr. Woodrow Wilson in the year 1919 during his office as President, as ‘founder of the League of Nations’
  • Mr.Jimmy Carter in the year 2002, 21 years after his tenure as President, ‘for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development’.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments