For the First Time in “The ICIC -World Cup Cricket -Three Asian Countries play in the ‘Semi Finals’

  • The following 3 Asian Countries are jointly hosting ‘The 10th World Cup Cricket Tournaments’-2011:-

  • India
  • Bangladesh and
  • Srilanka

The ‘League Matches’ of the World cup Cricket have come to an end by 20th March 2011. At the end of the ‘League Matches’, the following 8 Teams got qualified for the ‘Quarter Finals’: From Group ‘A’:

  • Australia (World Champion of 1999, 2003 & 2007).
  • New Zealand,
  • Pakistan and
  • Srilanka &

From Group ‘B’:

  • South Africa,
  • West Indies,
  • England and
  • India.

At the end of the 4 Quarter Finals the following 4 teams have won and got qualified for the 2 ‘Semi-Finals’ : The First Semi-Finals will be:

  • Between Srilanka &New Zealand,
  • Played at Colombo-Srilanka
  • On 29th March 2011 at 02 30 pm (IST) &

The Second Semi-Finals will be:

  • Between India & Pakistan
  • Played at Mohali- Chandigarh-Punjab-India
  • On 30th March 2011 at 02 30 pm (IST).

It is notable that:-

  • India became the World Champion in 1983,
  • Pakistan became the World Champion in 1992 and
  • Srilanka became the World Champion in 1996.
  • And for the first time in the history of ‘World Cup-Cricket’ 3 the above 3 Asian countries are going to participate in the ‘Semi-Finals’ (along with New Zealand)
  • New Zealand is going to play ‘Semi-Finals’ for the 7th time.

We may hope to see one of the above 3 Asian countries (India, Pakistan and Srilanka) to become the Cricket World Champion again.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments