Mr.Pranab Mukherjee’s Election as the President of India Upheld by the Supreme Court of India

Mr.P.A.Sangma, the ex-speaker of the Indian Lokh Sabha, who contested against

Mr.Pranab Mukherjee

in the Presidential elections had filed a petition to the Supreme Court of India, challenging the election of Mr.Mukherjee, on the grounds that he had been holding office of profit as the Chairman of the Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata.

The Supreme Court on 5th December 2012, dismissed by a majority ruling Mr. P A Sangma’s above petition and upheld the election of Mr.Mukherjee as the President of India.

The following are the 5 Justices of the bench which heard Mr.Sangma’s petition:

Chief Justice Altamas Kabir,

Justice  P Sathasivam,

Justice S S Nijjar,

Justice  J Chelameswar and

Justice Ranjan Gogoi.

The first 3 Justices of the above Supreme Court of India Bench, including the Chief Justice held that Mr.P.A.Sangma’s petition is not maintainable for regular hearing, while the last 2 Justices held that the petition deserves regular hearing.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments