Nobel Chemistry Prize 2009 shared by three Scientists

The Nobel-Prize for Chemistry 2009 has been jointly won by three Scientists:-

  • Dr.Venkataramn Ramakrishnan, 57 years – an Indo-American Scientist born in Chidambaram, Tamilnadu, India- A senior scientist and group leader at the Structural Studies Division of the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge, England.

  • Dr.Thomas Steitz-an American Professor of Yale University
  • Dr.Ms.Ada Yonath 70 years old- Israeli Lady Scientist-the fourth woman to win Nobel Prize for Chemistry, and the first woman to win a Chemistry Nobel Prize after 45 years.

for mapping the ribosome, the cell mechanism which makes proteins and their work is fundamental to the scientifice understanding of life and has helped researchers to develop anitbiotics.

The Joint winners of the Chemistry Nobel Prize will share $1.4 Millions.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments