Indian Badminton Star Ms.Saina Nehwal receives “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award-2010”

“Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award” is given to Sportsmen in India for highest achievements in various fields of Sports.At present the ‘Khel Ratna Award’ consists of:-

  • a medal,
  • a scroll of honour and
  • a cash prize of Rs 7.5 Lakhs.Indian Chess Grand-master- Viswanathan Anand was the first sports star to receive the above award for the year 1991-92.

The following are some of the notable sports-stars,who were conferred on with the ‘Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award’ so far :-

  • Geet Sethi for Billiards,
  • Karnam Malleswari for Weightlifting,
  • Leander Paes (Joint) for Tennis,
  • Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni for Cricket,
  • Dhanraj Pillay for Hockey,
  • Abhinav Bindra for Shooting and
  • Anju Bobby George for Athletics.

Indian Badminton Star Ms.Saina Nehwal has been chosen for the “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award” for the year 2009-10.

Only in March 2010, Ms.Sainal entered into “The World Top 5”-ranking in Badminton. And Ms. Saina Nehwal has recently become the ‘World No:2’ in Badminton, from the 5th rank, at the age of 20 years by her continuous winnings in three International Badminton Championships.Ms.Saina Nehwal is:-

  • the first Indian Female Badminton Player to reach the Singles Quarterfinals at the Olympics and
  • the first Indian to win the World Junior Badminton Championships.

The prestigious award in the Indian Sports field will boost the young badminton star to play well in the World Championship and the Common Wealth Games and bring fame and name to India.
There is no doubt, that we will soon hear the news of Ms.Saina Nehwal becoming “World No:1” in Badminton.

Related Reading:
 List of Indian Sports Persons Selected For “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award” and the “Arjuna Awards”-2013

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] Indian Badminton Star Saina Nehwal Receives Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award-2010 […]