India-16th Lok Sabha -General Elections- 2014-Results-Highlights

In India , the ‘General  Elections’ were held for the 16th Lok Sabha, in nine phases,  from 7th  April 2014 to 12th May 2014.

The votes polled in the 2014 General Elections were counted and the results were declared on 16th May 2014.

The following are some of the highlights of the results of the General Elections-2014 for the 16th Lok Sabha:

A total number of 814.5 millions of people were eligible to vote in this election and this is the largest ever election in the entire world

A total number of 8 251 candidates contested for 543 Lok Sabha seats

The National Democratic Alliance/NDA led by the Bharatiya Janata Party/BJP had a sweeping victory with  a total number of 336 seats, with the BJP  282 seats

The United Progressive Alliance/UPA led by the Indian National Congress/INC could secures only 59 seats with the Indian National Congress 44 seats

This is the first time after Rajiv Gandhi’s sweeping victory in the year 1984, with 59 seats for the United Progressive Alliance/UPA and Indian National Congress with 44 seats

This is the second worst defeat for the ruling party in any election in India

With the results of the General Elections-2014, the 2-terms rule of the United Progressive Alliance has come to an end

And the 2 terms Prime Minister of India, Dr.Manmohan Singh has bid farewell to the staff and the people of India

Narendra Modi has resigned as the Chief Minister of Gujarat, the post held by him for more than 12.5 years

And Narrendra Modi will take over as the Prime Minister of India on 26th May 2014

Narendra Modi will be the first Indian born after India’s Independence/Republic, on 17th September 1950, to become the Prime Minister of India.

The following is a list of number of seats contested and number of seats won by the 23 individual parties under the National Democratic Alliance/NDA:

Name of the Party/Number of seats contested/Number of seats won/Remarks

1.    Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)/427/282

2.    Shiv Sena  (SHS) /20/18

3.    Telugu Desam Party (TDP)/30/ 16

4.    Lok Janshakti Party  LJP/7/6

5.    Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) /10/4

6.    Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP)/3/3

7.    Apna Dal (AD)/2/2

8.    Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK)/8/1

9.    Swabhimani Paksha /SWP/2/1

10.    All India N.R. Congress (AINRC) /1/1

11.    Naga People’s Front (NPF) /1/1

12.    National People’s Party(NPP) / 1/1

13.    Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK)/14/0

14.    Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK)/7/0

15.    Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC)/2/0

16.    Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi (IJK)/1/0

17.    Kongu Nadu Makkal Desia Katchi (KNMDK)/1/0

18.    Republican Party of India (Athvale)(RPI-A)/1/0

19.    Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (RSP)/1/0

20.    Revolutionary Socialist Party (Bolshevik) –RSP(B)/1/0

21.    Kerala Congress (Nationalist)-KC-N/1/0

22.    Mizo National Front (MNF)/1/0
TOTAL: National Democratic Alliance: 542/336
The following is a list of number of seats contested and the number of seats won by the  12 individual parties of the United Progressive Alliance/UPA led by  the Indian National Congress/INC:

1.    Indian National Congress (INC)/ 462 /44
2.    Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)/28/4

3.    Nationalist Congress Party  (NCP) /23/ /6

4.    Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)/4//2

5.    Indian Union Muslim League ( IUML) /2/2

6.    Kerala Congress (KC) /1/1

7.    Rashtriya Lok Dal (RKD) /8/0

8.    Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (JKNC) /3/0

9.    Mahan Dal (MD)/3/0

10.    Socialist Janata (SJ) /1/0

11.    Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP)/1/0

12.    Bodoland People’s Front (BPF)/1/0
TOTAL: United Progressive Alliance/537/59
The following  is a list of number of seats  won by OTHER -Parties NOT under any of the above 2 alliances: 

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam  (AIADMK):  39/37

AIADMK of Tamilnadu, led by Selvie.J.Jayalalitha  had been under the NDA alliance in the earlier Lok Sabha of 2009-In 2014 Elections AIADMK opted out of the NDA alliance and contested in all the 39 constituencies in Tamilnadu and won in 37 seats, excluding the following 2 won by BJP and PMK:  Ponn.Radhakrishnan  of BJP from Kanniyakumari  and Anbumani Ramadoss  of PMK from Dharmapuri

All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) : 42/34

All India Trinamooll Congress/AITC of West Bengal led by Ms. Mamata Bannerjee was under the UPA alliance in the 2009 Lok Sabha Elections- Contested without alliance in the 2014 elections

Biju Janata Dal: 21/20

Biju Janata Dal –Odisha party led by Naveen Patnaik, son of the former Chief Minister of Odisha- Biju Patnaik-Not under any alliance

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS): 17/11 

TRS of Andhrapradesh-founded by K.Chandrasekara Rao –who was in Chandra Babu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party(TDP)

YSR Congress Party: /25/9 

YSR (Yuvarajana Shramika Rythu/Youth, Labour and Farmer)Congress of Andhrapradesh-founded by Siva Kumar and taken over by Y.S.Jagan Mohan Reddy, the son of the former Chief Minister of AP, Y.S.Rajasekhara Reddy (YSR) –contested without any alliance

Communist Party of India (Marxist)-CPM (M): 97/9

CPM(M) came separate from the Communist Party of India (CPI)

Samajwadi Party (SP): 210/5

SP is a State Party of Uttar Pradesh (UP) founded by Mulayam Singh Yadav – emerged out from Janata Dal- and SP is a democratic socialist party  mainly representing the interests of a caste grouping called Other Backward Classes (OBCs)

Aam Aadmi Party: 42/4

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) launched in the year 2012, from Anna Hazare’s  ‘India Against Corruption’-Movement-contested in Delhi Assembly Elections-2013 and won 28 seats out of the total number of 70 seats- AAP formed the State Government of Delhi with the conditional support from the Indian National cogress(INC) –resigned after 49 days, being unable to pass a strong bill to investigate charges against political leaders-contested in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections for 42 seats and won 4 seats

Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party: 6/3

All India United Democratic Front/Assam United Democratic Front: 14 /3/ Party in Assam

Indian National Lok Dal (INLD): 10/2/ INLD is a party in Haryana led by Om Prakash Chautala

Janata Dal (Secular) –JD(S): 25/2

/JD(S) is a party in the state of Karnataka, split from Janata Dal Party, and JD(S) is led by the former Prime Minister of Indi, H.D.Deve Gowda

Janata Dal (United)-JD-U: 40/2

JD-U was started by Socialist Leader George Fernandez with the merger of Sharad Yadav faction of the Janata Dal, the Lok Shakti Party and the Samata Party in October  2003. JD- U is mainly in the states of Bihar and Jharkhand.

The Chief Minister of Bihar Nitish  Kumar had resigned as CM of Bihar taking moral responsibility for the poor performance of JD- U in Bihar.

Communist Party of India (CPI): 67 /1

Revolutionary Socialist Party: 1/1

Sikkim Democratic Front: 1/1

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen: 1/1

Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)/39/0

Independent: /3

The following 3 are the Independent Candidates who won in the 2014 General Elections:

Naba Kumar Sarania (Hira)- An ex-militant of ULFA- from Kokrajhar- Assam

Malayalam Comedy Actor Innocent-from Chalakkudy- Kerala-Defeating Congress Candidate P.C.Chacko

Advocate Joice George-from  Idukki- Kerala-Defeating Congress Candidate Dean Kuriakose.

TOTAL: OTHER Parties NOT under any of the above2 Alliances   /148

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments