List of “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna” Award Winners Till Date

In India, for achievements in the field of ‘Sports’ the “Arjuna Awards” are being given every year, from 1961.

Arjuna Award

However, it was decided by  the Government of India to have an award higher than the “Arjuna Award” for the most outstanding performance in ‘Sports’ by individuals or a team.

And, the “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna” Award  was instituted in the year 1991-92, in the name of the former Prime Minister of India, Late. Mr.Rajiv Gandhi.

At present, the “Khel Ratna Award” is the highest honour given to eminent Indian ‘Sports Persons’ for  achievement in ‘Sports’. “Khel Ratna” in Hindi, means “Gem of Sports” .

The “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award” consists of the following:

  • A Medal,
Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Medal
  • A Scroll of Honour and
  • Cash (Rs 7.5 Lakhs)
From the year of institution of the award 1991-92, the cash component of the award had been Rs 5 Lakhs until the year 2004-05 and the cash component had been increased to Rs 7.5 Lakhs from the year 2004-05.
The following is the List of Indian Sports Person who have received the “Rajiv Gandhi-Khel Ratna Award” from the year 1991-92 Till Date -2012-13:

Year/Name of the Awardee /Sports Discipline
1991–92 /Viswanathan Anand/Chess

Viswanathan Anand
1992–93 /Geet Sethi/Billiards
Geeth Sethi

1993–94/Not Conferred

1994–95 /Cdr. Homi D. Motivala & Lt. Cdr. P. K. Garg  /Yachting (Team Event)
1995–96 /Karnam Malleswari/Weightlifting
Karnam Malleswari

1996–97/Nameirakpam Kunjarani/Weightlifting

Nameirakpam Kunjarani
1996-97/Leander Paes/Tennis
Leander Paes

1997–98 /Sachin Tendulkar/Cricket

Sachin Tendulkar

1998–99/Jyotirmoyee Sikdar/Athletics
Jyotirmoyee Sikdar

1999–2000 /Dhanraj Pillay/Hockey

Dhanraj Pillay

2000–01/Pullela Gopichand/Badminton
Pullela Gopichand
2001–02 /Abhinav Bindra/Shooting
Abhinav Bindra

2002–03 /Anjali Ved Pathak Bhagwat/Shooting

Anjali Ved Pathak Bhagwat

2002-03/ K. M. Beenamol/Athletics
2003–04/Anju Bobby George/Athletics
Anju Bobby George
2004–05/Lt. Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore/Shooting
Lt.Col.Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore

2005–06/Pankaj Advani/Billiards and Snooker

Pankaj Advani
2006–07/Manavjit Singh Sandhu/Shooting
Manavjit Singh Sandhu
2007–08/Mahendra Singh Dhoni/Cricket
Mahendra Singh Dhoni

2008–09/Mary Kom /Boxing

Mary Kom
2008-09/Vijender Singh /Boxing
Vijender Singh

2008-09/Sushil Kumar/Wrestling

Sushil Kumar
2009–10 /Saina Nehwal/Badminton
Saina Nehwal

2010–11/Gagan Narang/Shooting

Gagan Narang

2011–12/Vijay Kumar/Shooting

2011-12/Yogeshwar Dutt/Wrestling

Yogeshwar Dutt
2012-13/Ronjan Sodhi/Shooting

Ronjan Sodhi

2014-15/Sania Mirza/Tennis

Related Reading:

List of Bharat Ratna Award Recipients From 1954 Till Date

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments