India’s All Time Great Cricket Captain Sunil Gavaskar To Receive BCCI’s- ‘Life Time Achievement Award’

Former Indian Cricket Captain- Sunil Gavaskar is one of the ‘All Time Great Cricketer’.

Sunil Gavaskar represented India in 125 Tests from 1970-71 to 1986-87.  He scored a record 774 runs in his debut series in the West Indies.

In the World Championship of Cricket in 1984-85, India became the Champion under Sunil Gavaskar’s Captaincy.

Sunil Gavaskar  was the first batsman:

  •  to score 10,000 runs in Tests
  • to play 100 consecutive Tests
  • to score hundreds in each innings of a Test thrice.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to confer the ‘Col. C.K.Nayudu Life Time Achievement Award to Sunil Gavaskar.

The ‘Col. C.K.Nayudu Life Time Achievement Award comprises;

  •  a trophy,
  • citation and
  • cheque for Rs.25 lakh.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to honour the following seven individuals posthumously with a Special Award for their outstanding contribution to Indian Cricket:

•    Vijay Merchant,

•    Vinoo Mankad,

•     Dattu Phadkar,

•    Vijay Manjrekar,

•    Ghulam Ahmed,

•    M.L. Jaisimhab  and

•    Dilip Sardesai.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments