List of States and Union Territories of India As On 02 June 2014

India is a Federal Union of States, with 29 States and 7 Union Territories as on 02nd June 2014.

The Following is the List of the 29 States and the 7 Union Territories of India As On 02nd  June 2014:

List of States of India:

S.No./ Name of The State/The Capital City of the State/Date of Formation of the State

1/Andhrapradesh/Hyderabad (Joint Capital of Andhrapradesh and Telangana States) /01st November 1956

2/Arunachal Pradesh/Itanagar/20th February 1987

3 /Assam/Guwahati/15th August 1947

4/Bihar/Patna/01st April 1936
5/Chhattisgarh/Raipur/01st November 2000
6 /Goa/Panjim/30th May 1987

7/Gujarat/Gandhinagar/01st May 1960

8/Haryana/Chandigarh (Joint Capital of Haryana and Punjab States and an Union Territory)/01st November 1966
9/Himachal Pradesh/Shimla/25th January 1971

10/Jammu& Kashmir/Srinagar in summer and Jammu in Winter/26th October 1947

11/Jharkhand/Ranchi/15th November 2000

12/Karnataka/Bangalore/01st November 1956

13 /Kerala/Thiruvananthapuram/Trivandrum/01st November 1956

14/Madhya Pradesh/Bhopal/01st November 1956

15/Maharashtra/Mumbai/01st May 1960

16/Manipur/Imphal/21st January 1972

17/Meghalaya/Shillong/21st January 1972

18/Mizoram/Aizawl/20th February 1987
19 /Nagaland /Kohima/01st December 1963
20/Odisha(Earlier-Orissa)/Bhubaneswar/01 April 1936
21/Punjab/Chandigarh (Joint Capital of Haryana and Punjab States and an Union Territory)/01st November 1966
22/Rajasthan/Jaipur/01st November 1956

23/Sikkim/ Gangtok/16th May 1975

24/Tamil Nadu( Earlier-Madras)/Chennai(Earlier-Madras)/26th January 1950

25 /Tripura/Agartala/21st January 1972

26/Uttar Pradesh/Lucknow/26th January 1950

27/Uttarakhand/Dehradun/09th November 2000

28/West Bengal/Kolkata (Earlier-Calcutta)/01st November 1956

29/ Telangana/ Hyderabad (Joint Capital of Andhrapradesh and Telangana)/02nd June 2014- The Andhrapradesh State has been bifucated and a new state named “Telangana” has been formed.

Bifurcation of the State of Andhrapradesh and Formation of a New State-Telangana:

 The State of Andhrapradesh has been under the ‘President’s Rule’ from 01st March 2014, as the Chief Minister of Andhrapradesh Mr.Kiran Kumar Reddy of the Indian National Congress/INC, resigned when the Union Government of India decided to bifurcate the state and form a new state-‘Telangana’.

Assembly Elections- 2014 were held for  the States of Andhrapradesh and Telangana,  along with the Lok Sabha Elections 2014.

The Telugu Rashtria Samithi of Mr.K.Chandra Shekar Rao won majority of the seats in Telangana and Mr.K.Chandra Shekar Rao will take over as the Chief Minister of the newly formed State of Telangana on 02nd June 2014.

The Telugu Desam Party/TDP-BJP alliance won majority of the seats in Seemandara. Mr.Chandrababu Naidu of TDP will take over as the new Chief Minister of re-organized Andhrapradesh State on 08th June 2014. 

On 02nd June 2014 the State of Andhrapradesh is being bifurcated into 2 States of:

  • Telangana.( Newly Formed 29th State of India- North Andhrapradesh including Hyderabad States of Medak and Warangal Divisions) and
  • Andhrapradesh (Royalaseema and Coastal Andhrapradesh- Called Seemandara /South and East of Andhrapradesh,the Residual parts of Andhrapradesh, excluding Telangana)

 The City of Hyderabad, will be the common /joint capital city of both the States of Andhrapradesh and Telangana for 10 years.

And the Andhrapradesh High Court will be the common High Court for both the States of Andhrapradesh and Telangana.

 The Reorganized Andhrapradesh State will be given “Special Status” for 10 years.

As on 02nd June 2014, the total number of States of India is 29 with the addition of the State of “TELANGANA”.

List of Union Territories of India:

S.No./Name of the Union Territory/Date of Formation of the Union Territory

1/Andaman &  Nicobar Islands/    Port Blair /01st November 1956
2/Chandigarh/Chandigarh-Joint Capital of Haryana and Punjab States and an Union Territory) /01st November 1966

3/Dadra&Nagar Haveli/Silvassa /11th Augut 1961

4/Daman& Diu/Daman /30th May 1987

5/Lakshadweep/    Kavaratti /10th November 1956
6/National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) /Delhi/1857/1911

7/Puducherry/Pondicherry /01st Julyl 1963

Related Reading:

Formation of New States in India 
 (Posted on  04th January 2010)

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rajasthan Four Wheel Drive
Rajasthan Four Wheel Drive
9 years ago

Cities like Jaipur – the Pink City of India deserves exploring destination on your tour and travels jaipur. Royal Rajasthan and cover all the tourism destination various car rental service allow for have come out with best solutions to make the tripping in this vibrant state comfortable, luxurious and unforgettable one.