Roger Federer Equalled Pete Sampros by his 14 th Grand Slam Title

Swiss Tennis Star Roger Federer has equalled the retired American Tennis Star Pete Sampras’ record- 14 grand slam titles by his straight- sets win over Robin Soderling in the French Open 2009 Finals.

The following is the list of 14 Grand Slams of Federer:-

1 In Wimbledon 2003 -Federer beat Mark Philippoussis.

2 In Australian Open 2004- Federer beat Marat Safin.

3 In Wimbledon 2004- Federer beat Andy Roddick and became Wimbledon Champion for the second successive year.

4 In US Open 2004- Federer beat Lleyton Hewitt and became the first man in history to win his first four Grand Slam finals and the first man in 16 years to claim three majors in one year.

5 In Wimbledon 2005- Federer beat Andy Roddick and completed a hat-trick of titles.

6 In US Open 2005- Federer beat Andre Agassi and defended his title.

7 In Australian Open 2006- Federer beat Marcos Baghdatis and won his second Australina title.

8 In Wimbledon 2006- Federer beat Rafael Nadal and took the fourth Wimbledon title.

9 In US Open 2006- Federer beat Andy Roddick and became the first man to have three successive US Open titles.

10 In Australian Open 2007- Federer beat Fernando González and became the first man since 1980 to win a Grand Slam title without dropping a set and took his third Australina title.

11 In Wimbledon 2007 –Federer beat Rafael Nadal and became Wimbledon Champion for the fifth time.

12 In US Open 2007- Federer beat Novak Djokovic and took the fourth consecutive US Open title.

13 In US Open 2008- Federer beat Andy Murray and took his fifth US Open title.

14 And in the French Open 2009- Federer beat Robin Soderling who entered finals by beating Rafael Nadal. In the previous three French Open Finals Federer lost to Rafael Nadal.

Share This Post

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments