India’s Outstanding Cricketer – Sachin Tendulkar will be conferred on the Membership of the Order of Australia

India’s Cricket Super-Star Sachin Tendulkar is playing in the Champions League Twenty 20 in South Africa.

Ms. Julia Gillard, the Prime Minister of Australia who is on her visit in India has announced that Sachin Tendulkar will be conferred the Membership of the Order of Australia for his being an outstanding cricketer.
According to the Australian Prime Minister, cricket is one of the bondage between Australia and India.
The award will be conferred on  Sachin Tendulkar  by Mr. Simon Crean, a Cabinet Minister of Australia, when he visits India soon.

The Order of Australia Membership is an honour rarely awarded to non Australians. The former Attorney General of India,  Mr. Soli Sorabjee was the first Indian to receive the honour (AM)  in the year 2006.

Earlier the following cricketers had been made the members of the Order of Australia:

  • Mr. Clive Lloyd of West Indies in the year 1985 and
  • Mr. Brial Lara of West Indies  in the year 2009.

Related Reading:

The List of Bharat Ratna Award Recipients From 1954 Till Date

    Share This Post

    0 0 votes
    Article Rating
    Notify of

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Inline Feedbacks
    View all comments